Home > books, surveys > Win a Copy of Vintage Games

Win a Copy of Vintage Games

Vintage Games

Vintage Games

Focal Press is running a survey where you can win a $25 gift card and a copy of their book Vintage Games: An Insider Look at the History of Grand Theft Auto, Super Mario, and the Most Influential Games of All Time. I’m not too sure about their choices because it’s a mix of genres and there are certainly some older, more important titles of influence.

The options are:

  • Super Mario Bros
  • Final Fantasy IV
  • Castle Wolfenstein
  • Doom
  • Grand Theft Auto III
  • The Legends of Zelda
  • Tetris
  • The Sims
  • Flight Simulator

Really a mix of genres and stuff. The question itself isn’t of help, either: “Which game do you consider to be the most influential?” Influential how?

Anyway, I thought long and hard and decided on Civilization. But there are so many titles I could have put down if I had some sort of better focus (pun not intended) of the question’s intention.

Regardless, Vintage Games is on my wishlist, so here’s hoping I win.

Categories: books, surveys Tags:
  1. Speranza
    23 March 2009 at 10:02 pm

    I put in my vote for this. I said Doom. Mostly for the reason of your first post and because of the popularity of it. Sure Wolfenstein took assembly language and a 2d era into the 3rd dimension but Doom really maxed that out on the software side and it’s popularity can not be denied.

    Oh and once I win you can borrow the book šŸ˜‰

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

